How do you like your shortbread? Plain, chocolate chip or lemon?

An old friend came over for morning tea today, and the small boys requested biscuits rather than the normal muffins. I wanted to make something I could eat, and recalled making shortbread a lot a few years ago. On checking the recipe, I could see that it is 1/3 cornflour and 2/3 plain flour. This is often a bad ratio, but I decided it was worth a try. It actually worked really well. The gluten-free flour mix I’m using at the moment has some amaranth flour in it which is creating an interesting, grainy taste and texture. This means the shortbread aren’t quite as smooth as normal shortbread, but they are very nice. Based on recent experiences, I think this would work very well with brown rice flour. I’ll report back on the success or otherwise once I have some brown rice flour in the pantry.

Ingredients

  • 250g butter, softened
  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • 1 cup cornflour
  • 2 cups rice flour

Method

  • Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Don’t skimp on this stage.
  • Sift the flours together. I’m not a big fan of sifting and ignore whenever I can, but in shortbread, it’s critical.
  • Add the flours to the creamed butter and sugar. Mix in well, then knead until the dough forms into a cohesive ball.
  • Put some rice flour on a bench and roll out the dough. I often make a sausage-shaped roll and cut even thickness biscuits off.
  • Place biscuits on a lined baking tray with a good separation as they will spread. Bake at 160 degrees C for 30 minutes until golden.

Variations

At the request of one of the children, I often add chocolate chips and a little vanilla to the mix. Add these before the flours.

I love lemon and one day experimented with the grated rind of a lemon, also added before the flours. Yum.

The other flavour that I really like in these is pistachios, about 1/2 cup chopped finely.

With thanks to the Edmonds Cookery Book for the basics of this recipe.

2 thoughts on “How do you like your shortbread? Plain, chocolate chip or lemon?

  1. Sounds yum. i do lemon and poppyseed. Not sure if you can have that but the combo works well. So does pistachio with lavender flowers.

Leave a Reply

