A wonderful discovery – Vogel’s Gluten-free bread range

Some nights I dream of white bread sandwiches. Fresh, lovely white bread, soft and spongy. Preferably with cheese, crisps and relish. Yum. I dream of opening a picnic basket and pulling out everyone else’s sandwiches and then pulling out my white bread sandwich. It may not be healthy, it may not be grainy and  high fibre, but white bread just can’t be beat for chip butties or peanut butter sarnies. Of course, being gluten-free means that standard white bread is no longer on the menu. The Tin Kitchen provided me with a lovely fresh bread with a homemade flavour and texture that was awesome, and that was the best bread I have found for quite some time.

My husband came home from the supermarket the other week with a loaf of Vogel’s gluten-free white bread. We took it with us when we played paintball for his birthday. And I had a chip buttie. The bread was amazing – perfect texture, lovely taste and not at all like gluten-free bread. It was so good that I had to check the packet! I did apply my standard tests as well though – toasted sandwich and toast. For toasted sandwiches, the bread just wasn’t great and it didn’t really work. The toast was fine, but not outstanding. So for fresh, edible, sandwich bread, I give it a 10/10. As an all-purpose bread, I’d drop to a 7/10.

This week, I bought a loaf of their gluten-free fruit toast. Again, it tastes like real fruit toast. It’s awesome! And fantastic, because now I have a ‘quick’ breakfast for those mornings when I don’t have time for rice porridge, gluten-free cereal and the like. 10/10 for this one!

These are all available at my local supermarket and the prices are comparable with the other gluten-free bread ranges.

Thank you Vogel’s. Now you just need to update your website to show your gluten-free product range and all will be good!

16 thoughts on “A wonderful discovery – Vogel’s Gluten-free bread range

  1. I love love love Vogels gluten free bread! I used to have a few different brands of GF bread that I would buy but now none of them compare to Vogels. The texture and taste are both so much closer to regular bread. Wish they would update their website too or at least get a Facebook page so I could tell them how good it is. I can have regular sandwiches again without having to toast the bread – yes!

  2. Vogels may well be light and fluffy but this effect is created by using a product called E464. It is called HPMC for short (Hydroxypropylmethyl Cellulose).
    This is a product made from plant cellulose using a chemical process. The product data of this powder they use contains:
    Arsenic 3mg per kilo
    Lead 2mg per kilo
    Mercury img per kilo
    Cadmium i mg per kilo.

    Altough these are small amounts and have been approved by the FDA these are heavy metals and whos knows the accumulative effect.

    • Yes, and that is why I cannot eat any GF/Wheat bread because it contains E464. I react badly to E464, it makes me so unwell that I visited my doctor each time because it affected my digestive system so badly that the symptoms imitated diverticulitis…yet it wasn’t diverticulitis. Coming to the conclusion that it had to be the bread, even though I was only eating 2 slices a day, I decided to do some urgent research online and soon discovered the reason for my pain and severe digestive problems. I immediately stopped eating the Country Life GF/Wheat free bread and I have not touched any since. Within 24 hours my digestive system returned to normal, feeling comfortable and it it was a good feeling. On doing research plus a few phone calls, I have found that all bread manufacturers put E464 in their GF/Wheat free bread…including Helga’s. I eat rice cakes or thins…they are 100 pc pure rice with nothing added. We have Celiac Disease in my family and my self and 2 of my daughters and a few of their children are wheat sensitive. We have all been tested for Celiac Disease but we came back negative but as my doctor explained to me, that when there is Celiac Disease in the family it is to be expected that some will be not Celiac but wheat sensitive. All wheat free pastas are safe to eat as are biscuits – yet for some reason these bread companies do not want to do anything about this ingredient E464. Ok! It doesn’t affect every wheat sensitive person as it proves in my family but for us that do react to E464 I ask that someone please, come up with a safe bread for us. I will continue searching the Internet for a safe bread and if I am successful I will share it with you.

      Sincerely

      Margaret Holmes

      • Hi Margaret. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. The E464 sounds very nasty for you. Have you tried the Venerdi bread? I just pulled a loaf out of the freezer,and these are the ingredients:

        Gluten free flours (brown rice, tapioca, maize, white rice), water, seeds (flax, quinoa, sesame, poppy, sunflower, pumpkin), Palm oil, flaxseed fibre, vegetable gum (guar), sea salt, rice syrup, yeast.

        Do any of those contain the nasty additive? If not, this might be a good option for you (and it’s my favourite bread). Good luck!

  3. Hi Christine,

    As well as this e464 being used in foods it is also used in, but not limited to:

    Tile Adhesives
    Cement renders
    Gypsum products
    Pharmaceutical
    Paints & Coatings
    Cosmetics
    Detergents & cleaners
    Eye Drops

    In 2007 Vogels, with the intention of getting in on the growing gluten free market, hired an indian student from the Auckland University of Technology to do a thesis on gluten free bread which was used by this student to partially fulfil the requiremnts for his degree. He was required to come up with a cost effective recipe that would be able to be used in standard bread machinery. The use of this dubious product enabled the dough, at a cheap price, to preform very much like wheat bread on the production line and the final loaf preformed very much like wheat bread when consumed. Unfortunately the 464 (HPMC) is an easy way of acheiving an effect that other more health concious gluten free bread companies spend a good deal of time with the use of expensive quality ingredients to acheive.

    Burgen and Vogels now pride themselves on their Gluten free bread range whilst unaware or maybe just unconcerned on the heath effects on the human body due to the heavy metals in this product. Gluten free bread companies who are concerned about what they put in their bread will have a more expensive loaf due to the hands on approach but the health benefits will no doubt be cheaper for the customer in the long run because of the they will not need medical intervention due to symtoms of heavy metal residue and loss of lifes enjoyment due to ill health.

    Monique

    • Hi Monique and Christine

      I’ve checked on the Vogel’s website and they are very clear that they use all natural ingredients and no additives, although they don’t actually refer to their gluten-free bread anywhere on the website. The ingredients list on the packet definitely shows stabilisers 416 and 464. I can’t email them with your comments as they do not show an email address on their website, however I can (and will) call them and see if I can track someone down that I can email. I’ll post back here to let you know how I go!

      Thanks again for the feedback and comment!
      Lisa

    • I can’t find anything on the adverse health affects of HPMC or that it contains heavy metals. Do you know of any links to find out more?

      George

      • Hi George

        Thanks for stopping by. I’m sorry, I don’t have any links for that. A couple of the posters who expressed their concerns might though, so hopefully they’ll see your question and post. a response. I’m actually preferring the Venerdi breads due to their higher dietary fibre and better taste, but the Vogels white bread is still very good!

        All the best.
        Lisa

  4. I’ve rung and spoken with Vogels (actually Goodman Fielder) and they have told me that the stabilisers they are using are guar gum (that’s the e416) and the e464 which is derived from plants. They have restated that they have a commitment to using the most natural and safe ingredients possible. They do use vinegar in their bread as a mould inhibitor, so no chemicals there.

    In terms of their website being up and running, they are redeveloping the website with a separate section for their gluten-free products. This should be released within a month or so, and will have similar information on it to their standard products site.

    If you have any queries, you are very welcome to call them on their 0800 number, 0800-100-538 or email them at cac@goodmanfielder.co.nz

  5. Thank you Monique for your investigation and comments. Along with your comments on the ingredient 464, my dilemma is also the fact that this gluten free loaf contains Canola Oil & Soy Flour.

    Canola Oil is a deadly industrial oil but is touted by many, including the Heart Foundation, as a “healthy” oil. At least Goodman Feilder have used the word Canola and not just Vegetable oil, the word vegetable conjuring up “healthy.” Canola & Soy oils, the most commonly used oils in all processed foods, are deadly to your health for reasons to long to write here refer – Elaine Hollingsworth (www.doctorsaredangerous.com) and Brain Peskin (www.brianpeskin.com) and Sally Fallon (www.westonpricefoundation.com). These ingredients are used purely because they are cheap as opposed to say butter or olive oil or even deodorized coconut oil. I appreciate quality and therefore will pay for better healthier ingredients.

    As for Soy as used in this bread, please refer the same websites as listed above. All forms of unfermented soy (soy sauce is fermented) are dangerous to your health. Soy is highly estrogenic, leeches calcium from the body and wreaks havoc with the thyroid, among many other negative things. Yet again unfortunately, it is used in most commercial bread and food as is also used as an emulsifier. Why do food manufacturers have to use emulsifiers at all, because when I bake bread I don’t need to use the gunk to hold it all together or to make it last longer.

    Thanks again Monique and Christine for starting the conversation. We live in hope that one day the large food manufacturers will start listening to those that have investigated why we are all so unhealthy today and consider “Science not Opinion.” (quote Brain Peskin).

    Barb

  6. Hi there,
    I bake my own bread as its better, cheaper and healthier (as I know exactly what goes in it and no additives or preservatives) than anything I can find in the shops and doesn’t take me long to do. I use the recipe from my favourite cookbook Goodness Me it’s Gluten Free which I ordered from http://www.goodnessme.co.nz and its fantastic, there are several variations and also buns, pizza etc and they also sell the biggest (supermarket size) bread tins I have ever seen. So great to have a variety of bread products again and a decent size loaf that can be used as bread, sandwiches, toast, toasted sandwiches etc, I would recommend you check them out and Barb there is no soy flour in their recipe, oh and its dairy free too!
    Katherine

    • Sounds wonderful Katherine! Would you like to come and live at my house and bake me fresh bread? I do make my own bread semi-regularly, but I’m the only one of my family of 8 who is gluten-intolerant, so I tend to make what the majority can eat. So I guess convenience sums it up for me!

      Thanks so much for stopping by and I’ll definitely check out the the recipe! And let me know if you want my address so you can come and bake at my house 🙂

Leave a Reply

