Vogel’s gluten-free bread – an update on its ingredients

Some time ago, I posted about Vogel’s gluten-free bread. You can read the post and attached comments here. I was really pleased with the bread, and so were some of the commenters. However, two of the people who commented raised some serious questions about the ingredients and the integrity of Vogel’s. There’s no email address to contact Vogel’s, but I said I would call and try and find out more information.

So this week I’ve rung and spoken with Emily and Julia at Vogels (actually Goodman Fielder) and they have told me that the stabilisers they are using are guar gum (that’s the e416) and the e464 which is derived from plants. They have restated that they have a commitment to using the most natural and safe ingredients possible. They do use vinegar in their bread as a mould inhibitor, so no chemicals there. They couldn’t give me anything in writing, or any press releases and the like, but have given me permission to put the information they did pass on to me up on my blog.

In terms of their website being up and running, they are redeveloping the website with a separate section for their gluten-free products. This should be released within a month or so, and will have similar information on it to their standard products site. So you’ll be able to see where they source their products and how it is all made.

If you have any queries, you are very welcome to call them on their 0800 number, 0800-100-538 or email them at cac@goodmanfielder.co.nz

4 thoughts on “Vogel’s gluten-free bread – an update on its ingredients

  1. Hi there. It’s great that you have contacted Vogels.
    I have been trying Vogel’s gluten free white bread (after checking the listed ingredients) in the last week and it is not working for me at all – after eating it, my stomach distends and I feel gassy as if I had eaten (although not as pronounced) non gluten free bread. I also notice a craving to eat more which I would usually experience if I had eaten food with a sizeable amount of sugar in it. It is also “unnaturally soft even after a few days – what is that about?
    Hence why I have arrived here on this site after googling “is Vogel’s gluten free bread really gluten free”?
    Something does not feel right to me…
    I have been gluten free for several years and have eaten a broad range of breads.

    • Thanks for your comments Suzy! I put up a post a few days ago comparing the fibre content of the different GF breads and Vogel’s was definitely the lowest, so this might be part of it. I *think* (don’t have any at the moment so can’t check the labels) that they use psyllium in their mix which does help with the spongeyness. It’s a plant extract – and great for the texture of cakes. Keep checking back – I’ll post more about bread as I come across new information.

  2. Sorry for all the comments, but loving reading your blog! Gluten free Vogels sounds amazing! However, (anyone from Vogels reading this?) do they really have to put milk powder in ALL of their products? Vogels in the UK doesn’t actually have it, most bread doesn’t have milk powder at all here, why in NZ? I have a food technologist friend who talks about ‘functionality’ with milk powder, but in Europe they don’t use it as standard in bread and biscuits. And milk powder is processed as well.

Leave a Reply

