Socca with roasted tomato and capsicum salsa

I keep encountering socca. First of all in a recipe in a magazine, then at Galbraith’s pub when the husband and I snuck out for a grown-ups’ day off in January. This past weekend, in an effort to utilise the current tomato glut in our vege patch, I made a roast tomato salsa. When I was looking through the Living Without magazine, I came across the socca recipe again and decided that the socca would go very nicely with the salsa.

Socca is a thin, unleavened pancake or crepe made from chickpea flour. It originates in the South of France, and is apparently sold in street stalls. I whipped up a batch and although I was surprised by the texture (I was expecting more of a flatbread and this was quite crepe-like), the taste was really lovely and worked well with the salsa. Here are the recipes for both.

Socca

  • 1 and 1/2 cups chickpea flour
  • 1 and 1/2 cups water
  • 1 and 1/2 tbsp oil, divided
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh rosemary
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbsp minced dried onion (I used garlic as I didn’t have any dried onion)

Whisk together chickpea flour, water, 2 tbsp oil, rosemary, salt, pepper and dried onions. Let sit at room temperature for about 30 minutes. Mixture will resemble a thick cream.

Coat a non-stick skillet with 1/2 tbsp oil and heat over low flame until hot.

Pour about 1/2 cup batter into the pan and swirl around to coat pan like a crepe in a round shape.

Cook socca until crispy on one side. Flip and brown on the other.

Roasted tomato and capsicum salsa

Ingredients

  • 6 large tomatoes
  • 1 large onion, peeled and halved
  • 2 capsicums
  • 4 fresh apricots, halved and with the stones removed
  • 2 tsp crushed garlic
  • a handful of fresh coriander or about half a handful of rosemary or mixed fresh herbs
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 tbsp sweet chilli sauce

 

Method:

Halve the tomatoes and remove the stems. Lay flat on an oven tray.

Remove the seeds from the capsicum and lay flat on the  oven tray with the onion as well.

Spray the vegetables with oven spray.

Roast at 180 degrees C for about half an hour until the skin of the vegetables is beginning to crack and blister. Remove from oven and allow to cool.

Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until combined. Place in a jar and refrigerate.

Use on sandwiches, as a dip or a sauce. Or just eat with a teaspoon.

Apologies for no picture – I will try harder in future!

2 thoughts on “Socca with roasted tomato and capsicum salsa

  1. Just discovered your blog! This looks delicious. I’m eating and blogging my way around NZ for several months and doing it dairy/gluten/soy free, and I’m definitely excited to try this recipe! Looks like I won’t even need to make any substitutions to keep it dairy/gluten/soy free. Yum.

    • Thanks Briana! I hope you enjoy the recipe as much as we did. A lot of the recipes I make do have dairy in them but I am trying to be egg yolk free as well, so it can get difficult eliminating dairy too! I hope you enjoy your time in New Zealand.

Leave a Reply

