Farewell to the last of the gluten-free tortillas

When I was in the US last year, thanks to my good friend Rhonda and the phenomenon that is Costcos, I discovered these soft corn tortillas. We get corn tortilla here of course, but they tend to only be the crispy ones – things you would use for tacos, not things that you can roll. The ingredients are all gluten-free, but they do note on the packet that they’re made in a factory which also produces products containing gluten. I brought back an enormous bag of 100 of these beauties (they cost the princely sum of US$2.99). I made them into smaller bags and froze them and have been eking them out ever since.

They are best lightly fried or toasted and then stuffed with any yummy mix you can think of! I often use chicken, tomatoes, capsicum and avocado, seasoned with cumin, coriander and chilli, and then with cheese and sour cream added. Or a nacho type mince with lots of veges added to it.

Last night, I made enchiladas. And I used the last small packet of my corn tortillas. I did share them with my daughters and my husband though, and I thought of my US trip while I did. I think I may have to talk to the Gluten-free Grocer and see if these can be brought in. Either that or encourage my American friends to visit more frequently!

4 thoughts on “Farewell to the last of the gluten-free tortillas

  1. I’d be happy to send them to you if they could get through the agricultural inspection. Do you think they would? If so, I’ll send some.
    Or you could just come back every six months in order to keep your supply up. πŸ˜‰
    Miss you, my dear friend!!

    • They happily let them through customs when I came home. The problem is that they only have a shelf life of about 10 days I think, and by the time they got here…our brilliant Marcy found somewhere in NZ which has something similar, but they only sell to cafes and businesses. Think I might have to set up my business…

    • Hi Adriana. I have looked and couldn’t find anything (except one place which wouldn’t sell to me because I wasn’t a cafe!!). Can you recommend anywhere? It may have changed since I posted my tortilla farewell πŸ™‚ I did buy some from Farros the other day that were $7.50 for about 10 tortillas, so will see how they go. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

Leave a Reply

