Answering the gluten-free bread and fibre question

We recently had a nutritionist come to work to talk to us about healthy eating. She was surprised to hear that I felt that it was hard to eat a high-fibre, gluten-free diet. She gave us a couple of ‘rules of thumb’ to work by with fibre. For cereal, you should be looking for >7g of fibre per 100g. For bread, it should be >5g of fibre per 100g. I’ve started applying this rule to the bread products I buy for the rest of the family, and then started looking at the gluten-free bread as well.  Here are my findings (I’ve added a note about taste and texture as well!).Oh, now to the disclaimer! I am not a medical professional, food scientist, nutritionist, dietician or even an informed amateur. The information I am giving is taken from the labels on these breads as observed and recorded by me today at my local supermarket, so is not an exhaustive list by any means, it was just the ones that were on the shelf at the time.

Vogels

Soy & Linseed

  • Dietary Fibre 3.7g per 100g
  • Sodium 425mg/100g

6-Seed

  • Dietary Fibre 2.7g per 100g
  • Sodium 420mg/100g

Taste: both excellent. Texture good and makes a decent sandwich. Not so good for toasted sandwiches, but toast is lovely.

Venerdi Organic

Ancient Multi Grain

  • Dietary Fibre 4.1g per 100g
  • Sodium 373mg/100g

Original Brown Rice

  • Dietary Fibre 5.8g per 100g
  • Sodium 376mg/100g

Six Seeds

  • Dietary Fibre 8.4g per 100g
  • Sodium 253mg/100g

Taste: I especially like the Six Seeds, which has pumpkin seeds and so has a slightly nutty flavour. Lovely taste and lots of texture, toasts nicely and makes nice toasted sandwiches. Not so brilliant fresh, although the Original Brown Rice is reasonable as a sandwich bread.

Burgen

Ancient Grains and Seeds

  • Dietary Fibre 13.5g per 100g (note that this is split into soluble fibre 1.1g and insoluble fibre 12.4g. Not sure what this means!)

Corn and Poppy Seed

  • Dietary Fibre 9.0g per 100g
  • Sodium 440mg/100g

The corn and poppy seed bread is one of my favourite ones for toast and toasted sandwiches, but doesn’t do well as fresh bread.

Bakeworks

Wholemeal

  • Dietary Fibre 4.5g per 100g
  • Sodium 278mg/100g

Grain Sustain

  • Dietary Fibre 3.2g per 100g
  • Sodium 279mg/100g

Taste: I have to confess that I haven’t tried Bakeworks bread. I may have eaten it in cafes, but haven’t bought a loaf.

I also looked at Pavilion and that had no dietary fibre information on its labelling. The supermarket I was at had no Dovedale bread, but I will add that in once I find some.

So from this, Vogels, for all its good taste and excellent fresh texture, does not stack up as well as any of the others in terms of Dietary Fibre. Burgen seems to be so far beyond the others that it makes me wonder if they’re measuring fibre content in a different way and what the insoluble/ soluble fibre is (more research called for). Venerdi does very well and has the added advantage of being committed to being organic.

I’ll add in a price chart as well at some point, but what I can say is that there is actually now a variety of good quality bread available for us to eat here in NZ. I was at a Pak n Save, so it wasn’t a specialty or high-end supermarket.

I’ll keep updating this post and will add in more brands and so on as I come across them. Currently, the Venerdi  Six Seeds or the Burgen Corn and Poppy are my favourites – what are yours?

2 thoughts on “Answering the gluten-free bread and fibre question

  1. Pavilion chia seed bread has 4.6g of fibre per 100g. I noticed that this was the only one from their range that had the fibre content on it? It tastes good too!

Leave a Reply

