Hot Cross Buns the gluten-free way!

One of the things I most resent about being gluten-intolerant is the cost. If a label states “gluten-free” you can add up to 50% on to the price. The reason, ostensibly, is that because these items are being produced for a smaller market, there are not the efficiencies of scale available to keep the prices down. I can also see that if you’re doing gluten-free products correctly, you would need to set up a separate facility or area to do this.  Of course the ingredients themselves are no more expensive as you discover when you make a flour mix up at home rather than buying a much smaller amount of commercially produced flour for a significantly higher price.

Holiday times really highlight the expense issue to me. Last Christmas, I actually paid $15 for a half-dozen fruit mince pies (although that was partially for research purposes for this blog). This Easter, I was offered half a dozen hot cross buns for $12.99. Ridiculous!! So I decided to make some. I’m not known for my bread making skills (well, actually, I am, but that is using a bread maker :-)) but I was sure I could do it!

Luckily, a blog I follow had an excellent hot cross bun recipe. You can find it here, courtesy of the blog Coeliac Diagnosis – Gluten-Free OMG! So this morning, I rolled up my sleeves and made my first gluten-free hot cross buns. I made a couple of changes to the recipe (I know, I know, I really should have made it the way of the recipe first then substituted, but I didn’t have all the ingredients, so just did what I could). For the flour, I used 2 cups brown rice flour, 1 cup sorghum flour and 1 cup tapioca flour, and rather than buckwheat flour, used amaranth flour. I also added in 1 and a half tablespoons of psyllium. Because egg yolk is a problem for me, I used No Egg egg substitute.

I had lots of assistance from one of my 5-year olds, so my buns don’t look as beautiful as they might, but they taste excellent.  Next time, I might add a little more cinnamon and mixed spice, but I was very pleased with these.  I needed to mix them for about 25 minutes, but by then the mix had bound together well and was coming off my fingers easily – what a relief! The excitement of having the guinea pigs escape and be chased by the kittens while my hands were covered with the sticky mix was almost too much for me!

5 thoughts on “Hot Cross Buns the gluten-free way!

  1. OMG Lisa! I cannot believe that you had to pay those sorts of prices for hot cross buns and xmas mince pies. That’s daylight robbery!! Your comments on prices due to efficiency of scale is right on the money (pun intended). It is really hard for a tiny producer but you have to don’t charge that sort of amount. Then again I am a GF vegetarian with loads of other allergies so understand what it’s like trying to live this way, not like the big guns just out for $$’s. Your hot cross buns look delicious.
    Regards
    Nicole

    • Thanks Nicole. I think it is the thing which has surprised me most about eating GF – not how many products are around, but how expensive they can be. Your products seem very reasonably priced!

Leave a Reply

