What’s in the box? Here’s the answer!

And now to put you all out of your misery…a couple of weeks ago,  I was referred to the Frillys’ website. I hadn’t run across it before, but in the interests of finding new and different places to get gluten-free food from, I checked them out.

The website claims to give people who eat gluten-free food options which taste as good as food with gluten in it. As well as a New Zealand wide delivery service, they also own and operate a cafe called The Goodness of Food Cafe.

In the interests of full disclosure, I should tell you that I very cheekily emailed them and suggested that I could review some of their product here on this blog. Frillys kindly sent me through some samples to try free of charge. And so here’s what was in the box:

Caramel slice, brownies, peppermint slice and some bagels. I enlisted the help of my taste-testing team (aka the husband and children) and we happily embarked on gluttony of the highest order. Item by item, here we go:

Caramel slice – just like the real thing. A good proportion of caramel to chocolate to biscuit. A winner with me, bit too sweet for the husband (but then he’s not a caramel slice fan generally).

Chocolate brownie – almost the best brownie I have ever tasted, gluten-free or otherwise. Rich, decadent, and as it has no nuts, is a winner with the husband.

Peppermint slice – sweet and nice, the mint is very minty, which I like. The biscuit base was light and chocolatey and not too crumbly.

Bagels – these were soft and sweet, but toasted up nicely and did not have the texture of being gluten-free. I had mine with both butter and carrot hummus and both were delish. The description on the website is very accurate.

All-in-all, this was a very nice box of goodies. The prices aren’t cheap, but they are consistent with prices at say, the Gluten-free Grocer. The quality is excellent – the things I tried taste good, have a nice texture and are very rich. I found that a third of a slice was actually enough for one serving, so I guess it actually works out fairly economically. I plan on ordering more, and I have my eye on a chocolate cheesecake, but right now, I’m going to finish the very last skerrick of caramel slice for my supper.

Oh, and in the interests of full disclosure once again, when I say that I shared these slices with the husband and children, it would be more accurate to say that I cut off a sliver of each slice and then jealously guarded the rest!

3 thoughts on “What’s in the box? Here’s the answer!

  1. Pingback: Frillys review online! - Frillys Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

