Bakeworks pull-apart bread

At New World in New Lynn last weekend picking up fresh hot bread for the family, and I came across:

I am deeply suspicious of gluten-free bread, especially when it costs $7.49 for four small buns. BUT when I did the squash test, the bread felt, well, squashy. In a way that gluten-free bread often doesn’t. So I thought “what the heck?” and took a punt.

 

I pulled the bread apart. Into four, so that I could eat one and freeze three. I ate the first one fresh. It pulled apart off nicely, and cut in half well. I had ham and cheese and hummus and have to say it was delicious! I pulled some off for my husband and he agreed that it was almost as good as “real” bread. As an aside, I do wonder when I will stop considering bread with gluten in it as real bread! Here’s what the rolls looked like split apart:

On day 2, I took a frozen bun out of the oven and heated it up so it was just a little crispy on the outside. I ate it with just some canola spread. Yum.

Would I buy these again? Yes, I would, but probably not every week. They are pricey, but they are also very good. They are the sort of bun that you could easily take on a picnic and eat happily, as opposed to a lot of gluten-free bread product where really? Having it as fresh bread for a picnic is not so nice!

So an excellent experiment and I am very pleased that I bought these.  I would highly recommend them.

7 thoughts on “Bakeworks pull-apart bread

  1. I’m finding Vogel’s gluten free soy and linseed bread bearable. Haven’t succumbed to gluten free bread often over the last 2 years since cutting wheat from my diet because of the price. Subsequently just leave bread off my menu – but sometimes lately when I am up to my eyeballs in work and family commitments I just feel like making a quick sandwich to take to work for lunch.

    • My preference is for the Venerdi Six Seed bread when I eat it. I also blanch at the price, but I find it really useful to have a loaf in the freezer at work and at home for quick lunches. Thanks for stopping by!

    • Hi Lin. I’m not sure of the answer to either of these questions and I finished the packet yesterday. I will be buying it again and will post back to you when I do! I’m pretty sure it contains yeast though!

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

