Zero-G Wholemeal Gluten-free bread mix

20140203-231832.jpgAnother new product has come across my desk! Well, across my oven! Zero-G Wheat & Gluten-free Wholemeal Bread Mix, which is  a product I hadn’t come across before.  Janelle McNeil has recently taken over this company and kindly sent me through a sample. The mix is gluten-free, dairy-free, egg free, soy free, wheat and potato free. I made a loaf at the weekend, and was very pleased with the result – for the most part!

The mixing is very straightforward and easy, and I left the bread to rise on the window sill. The dough looked like such a small amount, I was sure my big loaf tin would be fine. About 45 minutes into the rising, I happened to look at the window and here’s what I saw…

20140203-231843.jpgOops!!

However, the finished product came up very nicely. It has a nutty flavour, no aftertaste and made up into very nice ham and mustard sandwiches for our afternoon high tea. The only drawback was that I couldn’t slice the loaf very thinly, either the day it was cooked, or the next day. But having a doorstop of tasty bread as toast for my breakfast was lovely!

You can find Zero-G at their website or on their Facebook page (search for Zero-G NZ).

I was not paid in any way to write this review, apart from receiving a sample to try.

20140203-231851.jpg

Leave a Reply

