Gluten-free scones – an updated recipe

Lemonade scones 1.jpgThe quest for the perfect gluten-free scone is a long and arduous one, involving many failed attempts, chewy, rock-like, “shiny on my teeth texture”, very average recipes and general disappointment. Dear readers, I have endured these sacrifices for you. Well, actually, I’ve selfishly endured them for me really, because I love scones 🙂 I’ve been making lemonade scones for a while now as my standard family scones (that is to say, they are not gluten-free) and have had a couple of goes at converting this recipe to make them gluten-free, and think I have finally cracked it!

Longtime readers will know that I prefer to use flour blends appropriate to what I am making, but to be honest, I don’t do very much gluten-free baking any more. Primarily because I am the only one in my household that eats it, and one of two things happens – I throw away half or I eat it all and the ever-expanding waistline really does not need the assistance! I recently ran across the Edmonds Gluten-free self-raising flour and decided to keep a packet of that on hand for when I need just a little flour. So it was time for the experiment!

Ingredients

  • 3 cups gluten-free flour
  • 3 teaspoons gluten-free baking powder (or use self-raising flour)
  • 1 cup lemonade
  • 1 cup cream

Method

  • Preheat oven to 200 degrees C.
  • Combine flour and baking powder (or use just self-raising flour).
  • Add cream, then lemonade and mix quickly with a bread and butter knife until combined.
  • Knead very briefly to collect up any loose flour. Note that the mixture is very sticky, and this is how it should be.
  • Press or roll out onto a floured board to about 2cm thick and cut into pieces. I often use a glass to get more even shapes. Makes about a dozen good-sized scones.
  • Cook for about 15-20 minutes until scones are golden. Transfer to a wire rack and allow to cool a little before serving.
  • Serve with jam and cream for a nice Devonshire tea, or cheese and chutney, or just eat with butter.

Some things to note:

  • I’ve made these very successfully using soda water if I wanted them to be savoury. I also normally use diet lemonade.
  • These are extremely nice with sultanas. If I’m doing sultana scones, I normally add 1 tsp of vanilla essence and 1 tsp of cinnamon.
  • I have made them into pinwheel type scones, but the mix does not roll up very well, so tend to just add lots of cinnamon to the mix for a nice cinnamon scone.
  • The recipe halves well – 1.5 cups of flour, .5 cup of cream, .5 cup lemonade – but sometimes is extra wet and sticky so you may need a little more flour.
  • I tried making mini scones for an afternoon tea, but this recipe really doesn’t lend itself to bite-sized scones.
Lemonade scones

Apparently I had used up all my cream making the scones themselves. Top – butter and jam. Bottom – cheese and chutney.

Go forth and enjoy! The scones are best eaten the day they’re made (but that’s true of the gluten-containing lemonade scones as well) but are OK the next day if warmed up.

Leave a Reply

